All Aboard the Hogwarts Express!

I am living in the United Kingdom for the next few months so naturally I have to see everything that is remotely related to Harry Potter (whether it’s in the books or the movies, or both). Yesterday, only four days into my trip, my flatmates and I went to King’s Cross Station to see the infamous Platform 9 and 3/4! London really embraces the Harry Potter fandom so King’s Cross Station installed a luggage cart on the wall between the entrances to Platforms 9 and 10. Unfortunately King’s Cross is set up so that one cannot stand on the actual train platforms without a ticket so the cart was set up outside the entrances (plus I’ve read the filming location was actually at the pillar in between platform 5 and 6 because it looked better). But despite all that, it was so cool to take a photo as if I were heading to the Hogwarts Express (2 weeks late) while representing my Hogwarts house,Ravenclaw (the station had workers lending us scarves and wands and taking photos)! Such a magical moment!!!

IMG_2349

The station even has a Harry Potter souvenir shop with a lot of really cool memorabilia. I didn’t buy anything last night, but I will certainly be back. Christmas presents anyone? I’m sure I will be buying Christmas presents for myself…

St. Pancras International Station is located right next to King’s Cross Station. For those of you who have seen the movies, you may recognize it from Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets when Harry and Ron fly Arthur Weasley’s Ford Anglia from King’s Cross to Hogwarts. This is also the station that is used in the films for Platform 9 and 3/4 (once the students go through the wall and actually enter the platform where the Hogwarts express is waiting). Hopefully I will be able to take a trip to Paris and take a train from this station.

IMG_2351

2 thoughts on “All Aboard the Hogwarts Express!

Leave a Reply

